Links

Breathing Out, 2004, mokuhanga and silkscreen on washi, 21.5 x 21.5 inches
Breathing Out, 2004, mokuhanga and silkscreen on washi, 21.5 x 21.5 inches

Mokuhanga and Printmaking Resources
McClain’s printmaking supply, specializing in Japanese woodblock supplies www.imcclains.com
Hiromi Paper International, Santa Monica, CA www.hiromipaper.com
Japanese Paper Place, Toronto, Canada www.japanesepaperplace.com
Paper Connection International, Rhode Island www.paperconnection.com
Lower East Side Printshop www.printshop.org/web/home
Print Alliance, a non-profit consortium of printmakers’ councils www.printalliance.org
Boston Printmakers, great organization of printmakers www.bostonprintmakers.org

1956 video of Hasui Kawase carving

 

Artist Resources
Creative Capital Internet Wiki, summary of Internet for Artists workshop ifa.wikispot.org
Creative Commons, alternative copyrights creativecommons.org
Alliance of Artist Communities, with information about many residencies www.artistcommunities.org
New York Foundation for the Arts www.nyfa.org

Artists Websites
Websites of artists who contributed to Japanese Woodblock Print Workshop are listed here.
Many additional mokuhanga artists are active now:
Katsu Yuasa, woodcut artist Katsutoshi Yuasa
Takuji Hamanaka, artist and master printer Takuji Hamanaka : Woodblock Printmaker
Jennifer Mack, artist and teacher Jennifer Mack-Watkins
Karen Kunc, oil based woodcuts www.karen-kunc.com
Mike Lyon, master of technique and technology www.mlyon.com